Giro d’Italia: emotional Tejay van Garderen claims stage 18 in sprint finish

The American BMC rider Tejay van Garderen won the 137 km theatre from Moena to Ortisei as Tom Dumoulin held on to the pink jersey

After plenty of close call, Tejay van Garderen eventually won his first magnificent tour stage in a sprint finish on the streets of Ortisei in the Dolomites.

The 28 -year-old American was visibly psychological after holding off Crew Skys Mikel Landa in a charge to the line following a breakaway to claim the Giro dItalias stage 18 for BMC. Its my first Grand Tour stage win and it feels extraordinary, Van Garderen said afterwards.

Behind him the overall race commander, Tom Dumoulin, took another crucial step in the fight for the maglia rosa , finishing ninth and clocking the same epoch as Nairo Quintana to ensure he maintained hold of the pink t-shirt, with his 31 -second lead intact foreman into the final three theatres. Italys Vincenzo Nibali remains third, 1min 12 sec behind the leader.

The Dutchman Dumoulin fended off some hopeless an attack against Quintana. The Dolomite climbs seemed tailor-made for the diminutive Movistar rider but, try as he had been able to, Quintana failed to make any of his attacks stay and Dumoulin even threatened to extend his lead-in when he moved on the influence on the final ascent.

Home favourite Nibali also tried to break Dumoulin but he never gazed threatened. Sunwebs Dumoulin and Quintana bridged the line in the same experience and with 2 day of climbing left, Dumoulin now gazes favourite to triumph the Giro.

Thibaut Pinot of France is still in arguing after moving into fourth overall, 1min 36 sec back.

Stage 18 results

1. Tejay van Garderen( US/ BMC Racing) 3hr 54 min 03 sec 2. Mikel Landa( Spain/ Team Sky) ST 3. Thibaut Pinot( France/ FDJ) +8 4. Domenico Pozzovivo( Italy/ AG2R) 5. Jan Hirt( Czech Republic/ CCC) +11 6. Ilnur Zakarin( Russia/ Katusha) +24 7. Bauke Mollema( Netherlands/ Trek) +34 8. Steven Kruijswijk( Netherlands/ LottoNL) 9. Tom Dumoulin( Netherlands/ Sunweb) +1:06 10. Nairo Quintana( Colombia/ Movistar)

Overall classification after theatre 18

1. Tom Dumoulin( Netherlands/ Sunweb) 80 hr 00 min 48 sec 2. Nairo Quintana( Colombia/ Movistar) +31 3. Vincenzo Nibali( Italy/ Bahrain) +1:12 4. Thibaut Pinot( France/ FDJ) +1:36 5. Ilnur Zakarin( Russia/ Katusha) +1:58 6. Filippo Pozzato( Italy/ Wilier Triestina) +2:07 7. Bauke Mollema( Netherlands/ Trek) +3:17 8. Steven Kruijswijk( Netherlands/ LottoNL) +5:48 9. Adam Yates( Britain/ Orica) +7:06 10. Bob Jungels( Luxembourg/ Quick-Step) +7:24

Like it.? Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.